If you would like to contribute to this page, please post the information in the State Forums.
Concealed Permit: Shall Issue to Residents Only
Issuing Authority: Kansas Attorney General Individuals who wish to apply for a Kansas CCH license must apply at the sheriff’s office in the county where they live, regardless of whether they downloaded an application or obtained an application from the sheriff.
Out Of State Permit Issue: Kansas does not issue permits to non-residents.
NICS/Background Check: NICS: Yes The sheriff shall provide for the full set of fingerprints of the applicant to be taken and forwarded to the attorney general for the purposes of a criminal history records check. Each applicant shall be subject to a state and national criminal history records check for the purpose of verifying the identity of the applicant and whether the applicant has been convicted of any crime that would disqualify the applicant from holding a license. The attorney general, for the purposes of determining the applicant’s eligibility only, may access criminal records that have been expunged by the court.
Permit Valid For: The permit is valid for four (4) years from the date of issuance.
Permit Issued Timeline: The attorney general has 180 days to issue or deny the license.
Cost: $150 total: Acquire two cashier’s checks or money orders made payable to the county Sheriff ($40) and the Kansas Attorney General ($110).
Lost or Destroyed Permit: Within 30 days after changing any permanent address, or within 30 days after having a license lost or destroyed, the licensee shall notify the attorney general of such change, loss, or destruction. Failure to notify the attorney general may result in the imposition of a fine or revocation of the license. in the event that a concealed weapon license is lost or destroyed, the license shall be automatically invalid. A duplicate may be obtained at a cost of $15, after the licensee furnishes the attorney general with a notarized statement of the loss or destruction.
Informing Law Enforcement of Carry: Under the KPFPA, if at any time a law enforcement officer asks the licensee if he/she is a CCH license holder or asks if the licensee is carrying a firearm, the licensee must display the license.
Verification by law enforcement that a person holds a valid license to carry a concealed weapon may be accomplished by a record check using the person’s vehicle tag and driver’s license information.
All CCH licensees will be required to have their CCH license with them at any time they are actually carrying a firearm concealed. Failure to do so could result in the licensee having his/her CCH license suspended or revoked and could result in criminal charges.
Automobile carry: People with a concealed weapon permit may carry in the car loaded anywhere in reach of the permit holder. Under state law, loaded firearms may be carried in plain view, glove compartment or vehicle storage compartments but some localities may regulate this aspect stricter.
Places off-limits when carrying: 1. Any place where an activity declared a common nuisance is maintained; 2. Any police, sheriff, or highway patrol station; 3. Any detention facility or jail; 4. Any courthouse; 5. Any courtroom, except that nothing precludes a judge from carrying a concealed weapon or determining who will carry a concealed weapon in the judge’s courtroom; 6. Any polling place on the day an election is held; 7. Any meeting governing board of any county, city, or other political or taxing subdivision of the state, or any committee or subcommittee thereof; 8. On the state fairgrounds; 9. Any athletic event 10. Any state office building; 11. Any athletic event not related to or involving firearms which is sponsored by a private or public elementary or secondary school or any private or public institution of postsecondary education; 12. Any professional athletic event not related to or involving firearms; 13. Any portion of a drinking establishment except that this provision shall not apply to a restaurant; 14. Any elementary or secondary school building or structure used for student instruction or attendance; 15. Any community college, college or university facility; 16. Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by federal or state law; 17. Any child exchange and visitation center provided for in K.S.A. 75-720, and amendments thereto; 18. Any community mental health center; psychiatric hospital; or state psychiatric hospital, as follows: Larned state hospital, Osawatomie state hospital or Rainbow mental health facility; 19. Any city hall; 20. Any public library operated by the state or by a political subdivision of the state; 21. Any day care home or group day care home, or any preschool or childcare center, or 22. Any church or temple
Nothing in this shall be construed to prevent: 1. Any public or private employer from restricting or prohibiting in any manner persons licensed under this act from carrying a concealed weapon while on the premises of the employer’s business or while engaged in the duties of the person’s employment by the employer; 2. Any entity owning or operating business premises open to the public from restricting or prohibiting in any manner persons licensed under this act from carrying a concealed weapon while on such premises, provided that the premises are posted, in a manner reasonably likely to come to the attention of persons entering the premises, as premises where carrying a concealed weapon is prohibited; or 3. A property owner from restricting or prohibiting in any manner persons licensed under this act from carrying a concealed weapon while on such property, provided that the premises are posted, in a manner reasonably likely to come to the attention of persons entering the property where carrying a concealed weapon is prohibited.
Alcohol and Drugs: It is unlawful for a narcotics addict or habitual drunkard to possess any firearm.
Deadly Force / Castle Doctrine: § 21-3212. Use of force in defense of dwelling. A person is justified in the use of force against another when and to the extent that it appears to him and he reasonably believes that such conduct is necessary to prevent or terminate such other’s unlawful entry into or attack upon his dwelling.
“SENATE BILL No. 366 Be it enacted by the Legislature of the State of Kansas: New Section 1. (a) A person who is not engaged in an unlawful activity and who is attacked in a place where such person has a right to be has no duty to retreat and has the right to stand such person’s ground and meet force with force.
New Sec. 2. (a) A person who uses force which, subject to the provisions of K.S.A. 21-3214, and amendments thereto, is justified pursuant to K.S.A. 21-3211, 21-3212 or 21-3213, and amendments thereto, is immune from criminal prosecution and civil action for the use of such force
Open Carry: Unrestricted under state law; localities may regulate this aspect independently.
Localities with Varying Laws: No city or county shall adopt any ordinance, resolution or regulation, and no agent of any city or county shall take any administrative action, governing the purchase, transfer, ownership, storage, or transporting of firearm or ammunition, or any component thereof, other than those expressly authorized by statute. Any such ordinance, resolution or regulation adopted prior to the effective date of this act shall de null and void. For purposes of this section, a statute that does not refer to firearms or ammunition, or components thereof, shall not be construed to provide express authorization. There are some exemptions to this statute.